Meet the Staff

Shanna Smith MA.
Director

ShannaSmith@theleadschool.com

A native of Baltimore, Maryland, Shanna Smith moved to St, Louis with her family in 2010. Shanna has a Master of Arts degree in Leadership and Teaching from Notre Dame of Maryland University. She has worked in special education for over 15 years at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. She is certified to teach in Missouri in both Elementary Education 1-8 and Mild-Moderate Cross-Categorical K-12.

Dawn Franzen MA.Ed
Assistant Director

dfranzen@theleadschool.com

Dawn Franzen received her Bachelor's degree in education and psychology and her Master's degree in education from Washington University, St. Louis. She is certified to teach preschool through eighth grade and special education. Dawn is completing her Education Specialist degree in K-12 Leadership.

Krista Reese MA.
School Counselor

kreese@theleadschool.com

Krista Reese received her undergraduate degree in health services from Quincy University and her Master's degree in school counseling from Lindenwood University, Krista is a DESE certified school counselor.

Marci Jennings
Department Head/High School Math

mjennings@theleadschool.com

Marci Jennings has over 15 years of teaching experience in a variety of school settings. She is certified in Elementary Education 1-6, Middle School Math 5-9, and Mild to Moderate Cross-Categorical K-12. Marci is completing her Master of Education Learning and Technology. Please contact Marci with any technology questions/needs.

Tamara Walchschauser MA.
Resource Coordinator

twalscshauser@theleadschool.com

Tamara has over 27 years of teaching experience in a variety of special education settings, including self contained, resource support, and co-teaching. She has a Master of Special Education and is certified in ED/BD Elementary 1-6, and Mild to Moderate Cross Categorical K-12.

Kayla Brotherton MA.
Middle School
kbrotherton@theleadschool.com

Kayla has been teaching for 10 years and in education for 13. She has been at The Lead School for 3 years. She has her Bachelor's degree in Early Childhood Education and a Master's of Arts in Education from Webster University. 

Jessica Henke MA.
Elementary
jhenke@theleadschool.com

Jessica has been teaching at The Lead School for 4 years and she has taught for a total of 6 years. Prior to coming to The Lead School, Jessica was a ABA paraprofessional. Jessica received her Master's in Teaching Elementary and Special Education from Lindenwood University.

Ashley Graham (Lutz)
HIgh School English
alutz@theleadschool.com

Ashley has been teaching at The Lead School for 3 years. She began as a 4th-6th grade teacher before moving to the igh school level 2 years ago. Ashley graduated from Missouri Southern State University in Joplin with her Bachelor's degree in General Studies, along with completing the teaching program with an emphasis in English.

Colleen Masin
Essential Skills
cmasin@theleadschool.com

Colleen has been teaching at The Lead School for almost 5 years. Prior to that, she was a paraeducator and substitute teacher. She attended University Missouri-Saint Louis and graduated with her Bachelor's of Science in Education.

Mary McVey
High School Science
mmcvey@theleadschool.com

Mary has been teaching for 26 years, including 1 year at The Lead School. She graduated from St. Louis University with her Bachelor's in Education and earned her Master's degree in Special Education from Chapmen University.

Brad Peach
High School Social Studies
bpeach@theleadschool.com
Brad has been in education for 11 years and is in his 8th year of teaching. Brad graduated from Webster University with his Bachelor's degree in Secondary Education.
Amber Roth
Upper Elementary
aroth@theleadschool.com
Alena Watson
Social Group
awatson@theleadschool.com

Alena has worked at The Lead School for 5 years and has worked in education for the past 8. She has an Associate's degree in Human Services and a certificate in Addiction Studies, and she is currently working on obtaining her Bachelor's degree in Social Work.

Teonna Mitchell
Lead Behavior Interventionist
tmitchell@theleadschool.com

Teonna has been with The Lead School for 5 years. Prior to that, she worked in related fields for a total of 21 years. Teonna is currently working on  her Associates Degree in Early Childhood Education. She is also a certified CNA, Medical Assistant and a Medical Technician 2.

Martuis Walker
Lead Behavior Interventionist
mwalker@theleadschool.com

Martuis has worked at The Lead School for 4 years. He is a graduate of Parkway West and attended Forest Park Community College. Martuis also  served in the Army for 10 years.

Staff Trainer/Fitness Coordinator
Alfonzo Brown
abrown@theleadschool.com
Alfonzo has worked at The Lead School for 2 years and has worked in education for the past 6 years. He graduated with his degree in Exercise Physiology and a minor in Strength and Conditioning. He is currently working on obtaining his Master's degree in Education.